American Elections: Wicked Game

Author: Lindsay Graham (not Senator)

Published: 2019 – 2022

Publisher: Wondery

Read By: Lindsay Graham

From the official web site this series is described as:

“On February 10th, 1796, Vice President John Adams wrote to his wife Abigail, lamenting the state of discourse in the country.  The election was nearing—and becoming heated. Newspapers screamed, factions warred, and John Adams was dismayed with what he called “the wicked Game.”

Americans in 2020 can relate.  They still have to endure weeks of shouting, outrage, and the worst sort of political rancor as the country once again chooses its president.

But it’s almost always been this way.  And to prove it, American Elections: Wicked Game will review the entire history of presidential elections, from the unanimous and inevitable election of George Washington in 1789 to Donald Trump’s surprise electoral victory in 2016.

From the host of the American History Tellers and American Scandal, this new podcast will explore all 58 presidential elections to discover that there never never was a “good ol’ days,” and that presidential politics has always been played dirty.”

Submitter’s Notes

I first learned of this series from a friend, and it has become a favorite to recommend to history lovers.  This is no small commitment to wade into, but worth every minute.

With all the negative news and politicians always trying to convince you that things have never been worse, this is a good level setting series.  It begins with Washington’s Presidency and comes forward through every election, taking one election in each episode.

Along the way you learn that the politics we see today have always been there, and in fact have often been worse.  Voting challenges, false claims, corruption, and a host of other sins are always there when people seek so much power.

Long, but worth every minute to vastly increase your political knowledge.

Like so many other podcasts this one is free, although apparently there is a premium version.  The podcast can be downloaded at